Champions League Groups Announced

Real Madrid and Manchester City will go head to head for the first time in the Champions League 'Group of Death'.

Paul Tamburroby Paul Tamburro

The Champions League groups were announced last night, with Manchester City drawing the short straw by finding themselves faced with three fellow national champions. 

Man City are up against Spanish La Liga champions Real Madrid, German Bundesliga champions Borussia Dortmund and Netherlands Eredivisie champions AFC Ajax in Group D, which has been dubbed the 'Group of Death'. Man City and Real Madrid's meeting, which will take place on the opening day of the Champions League on September 18th, will mark the first time the two have faced off in a competitive match.

Speaking of the draw, Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo said: “It is the most difficult group in my opinion and I think that’s the same for most people, but we are champions of Spain and we are ready to compete with everybody.”

Meanwhile, last years' surprise winners Chelsea are faced with Juventus, FC Shakhtar Donetsk and FC Nordsjælland in Group E, while Manchester United find themselves in the relatively unchallenging Group H with the likes of CFR 1907 Cluj, Galatasaray A.Ş and SC Braga. Arsenal will face off against FC Shalke 04, Montpellier Hérault SC and Olympiacos FC in Group B. The full list of groups is as follows:


Group A

1. FC Dynamo Kyiv
2. GNK Dinamo
3. FC Porto
4. Paris Saint-Germain FC


Group B

1. FC Schalke 04
2. Montpellier Hérault SC
3. Arsenal FC
4. Olympiacos FC


Group C

1. RSC Anderlecht
2. Málaga CF
3. FC Zenit St. Petersburg
4. AC Milan
Group D
1. Manchester City FC
2. Borussia Dortmund
3. AFC Ajax
4. Real Madrid CF
Group E
1. Juventus
2. FC Shakhtar Donetsk
3. FC Nordsjælland
4. Chelsea FC
Group F

1. Valencia CF
2. LOSC Lille
3. FC BATE Borisov
4. FC Bayern München
Group G
1. SL Benfica
2. FC Barcelona
3. FC Spartak Moskva
4. Celtic FC
Group H
1. CFR 1907 Cluj
2. Manchester United FC
3. Galatasaray A.Ş.
4. SC Braga
Photo: Getty Images