‘American Horror Story’ Season 2 Gets a Name Change

Series co-creator, Ryan Murphy and FX announce that the new season will be called "Asylum."

Blair Marnellby Blair Marnell

On a rare day in which no new cast members were added to the upcoming second season, "American Horror Story" producers still found a way to make news.

FX has announced that "American Horror Story" season 2 will now be known as "American Horror Story: Asylum."

In a statement, "American Horror Story" co-creator Ryan Murphy said that We picked ‘Asylum’ because it not only describes the setting – an insane asylum run by Jessica Lange’s character which was formerly a tuberculosis ward – but also signifies a place of haven for the unloved and the unwanted. This year’s theme is about sanity and tackling real life horrors.”

"Asylum" will take place in 1964 on the east coast, as Lange returns for her second season alongside Zachary Quinto, Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters and Lily Rabe; all of whom will be portraying brand new characters who are unlike their personas in the previous season.

Joining the cast this season is an impressive lineup of performers including James Cromwell, Joseph Fiennes, Adam Levine, Jenna Dewan, Chloë Sevigny, Lizzie Brocheré, Chris Zylka, Britne Oldford, Franka Potente, Mark Consuelos and Clea Duvall.

"American Horror Story: Asylum" is expected to launch in October on FX.