Dallas Mavericks Tear it up at ESPY’s!

Dallas walks away with four major award wins.

James LeBeauby James LeBeau

2011 Espy Awards

After hearing the winners of last nights ESPY's, it's safe to say that the name could have easily been modified to the ESPY's featuring the Dallas Mavericks. The reigning NBA Champions took in quite a haul at sports premier awards show by reigning in four of the most prized awards.

They took in Best Team while Dirk Nowitzki took in Best Male Athlete and Best NBA Player. Rick Carlisle completed the haul with the Best Coach/Manager.

"I'm so humbled and honored by this," Nowitzki said. "It's been an unreal year for all of us on the Mavericks."

The event, hosted by Saturday Night live comedian Seth Myer, started out with a bang as Myer started the night by digging at the NFL and the NBA lockouts. He then moved on to some barbs about the Miami Heat before focusing on the ridiculous outfit worn by San Francisco Giants closer Brian Wilson. Wilson wore a full-body spandex tuxedo, complete with black high-tops and a cane.

Brian Wilson - 2011 Espys

"Justin Bieber could have set himself on fire and not have had a crazier outfit than Brian Wilson," Meyers told reporters.

The NBA managed to wrangle another big award as Los Angeles Clippers standout Blake Griffin won the ESPY for Breakthrough Athlete. The NBA Rookie of the Year won the award for capturing the attention of NBA fans everywhere with his electric dunks and his seasoned play. For his breakout season, Griffin averaged 22.5 points and 12.1 rebounds a game and became the first rookie to appear in an NBA All-Star Game since Yao Ming in 2003.


Other winners included…

.Kentucky Derby winner John Velasquez was named Best Jockey.

•Paralympic gold medalist swimmer Mallory Weggemann won Best Female Athlete with a Disability.

•Australia's Jason Belmonte was named Best Bowler.

•Los Angeles Galaxy's Landon Donovan, the all-time leader in scoring and assists leader for Team USA, won Best MLS Player.

•Sprinter Tyson Gay, who holds the U.S. record in the 100 meters (9.69 seconds), won Best Track and Field Athlete.

•Former Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich, who returned from bone cancer, won Best Comeback.

•Adrian Foster of the Houston Texans won the Castrol EDGE NFL Strongest Performance.

•Stanford women's athletics and Florida men's athletics won the Capital One Cup, which recognizes excellence in collegiate athletics.

•"The Fighter" won the Best Sports Movie.

•Ten-time world title winner Manny Pacquiao won Best Fighter.

•U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy won Best Male Golfer and Best Record-Breaking Performance.

•Two-time major winner Cristie Kerr won Best Female Golfer.

•Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams won Best Male and Best Female Tennis Player, respectively.

•Maya Moore, who helped UConn to two national women's basketball titles, won Best Female College Athlete.

•Snowboarder/skateboarder Shaun White won Best Male Action Sport Athlete.

•Four-time defending world surfing champion Stephanie Gilmore won Best Female Action Sport Athlete.

•BYU's Jimmer Fredette, who led the nation in scoring with 28.5 points a game, won Best Male College Athlete. Fredette was drafted ninth by the Charlotte Bobcat, who then traded his rights to the Sacramento Kings

•Anthony Robles of Arizona State won the NCAA wrestling championship despite being born with one leg. He was the recipient of the Jimmy V Award and the Best Male Athlete with a Disability.

•The Philadelphia Eagles' 38-31 victory over the New York Giants was named Best Game. In a the December game at New Meadowlands Stadium, the Eagles scored 28 points in the final seven minutes, 18 seconds to take first place from the Giants in the NFC East.

•The VCU men's basketball team won Best Upset. VCU defeated heavily favored Kansas 71-61 to reach the Final Four.

•Super Bowl MVP Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers won Best NFL Player.

•PitcherRoy Halladay  of the Philadelphia Phillies won Best MLB Player. Halladay also won the ESPY for Best Moment.

•Five-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson won Best Driver.

•Diana Taurasi of the Phoenix Mercury won Best WNBA Player.

•Boston Bruins goalie Tim Thomas won Best Championship Performance for helping his team to the Stanley Cup championship. Thomas stopped 238 of Vancouver's 246 shots as Boston won in seven games.

•Reigning Olympic downhill champion and three-time overall World Cup ski champion Lindsey Vonn won Best Female Athlete.

The Arthur Ashe Award for Courage was presented to Dewey Bozella, who was sent to prison in 1983 for a murder he did not commit but won his release in 2009.


Photo Credit – WENN.com/FayesVision