The Mars Volta Reveal New Album Details: Greek Mythology Involved?

Title, tracklist, cover art and concept details from rock's most darkly psychedelic prog band.

Johnny Firecloudby Johnny Firecloud

Now that At The Drive-In has been locked and loaded as one of the most anticipated bands of Coachella 2012, the band's Latin-psychedelic rocket blast descendants The Mars Volta have announced their new album name, release date and tracklist. 

The Mars Volta's sixth studio album is called ‘Noctourniquet’ – and not ‘In Absentia’ as previously rumored. Rather than simply a combination of ‘Nocturnal’ and ‘Tourniquet,’ the name apparently is the lead-in to the story of a character that was inspired by Superman nemesis Solomon Grundy and Hyacinthus — a character in Greek mythology.

Here is the album's cover art:

The album will see a March 27th release, shortly before iron-throated singer Cendric Bixler-Zavala and guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez will reunite with their pre-Mars Volta band At the Drive-In for their first performance in over a decade at this year’s Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival in April.

Noctourniquet Tracklist:

01. ‘The Whip Hand’

02. ‘Aegis’

03. ‘Dyslexicon’

04. ‘Empty Vessels Make The Loudest Sound’

05. ‘The Malkin Jewel’

06. ‘Lapochka’

07. ‘In Absentia’

08. ‘Imago’

09. ‘Molochwalker’

10. ‘Trinkets Pale Of Moon’

11. ‘Vedamalady’

12. ‘Noctourniquet’

13. ‘Zed And Two Naughts’

Keep up with The Mars Volta at their official website.